For fifteen mesmerising years, the northern Tasmanian town of Longford was an international motor racing Mecca, attracting the world’s best and fastest drivers and riders, some of whose dynasties continue today.
Wooden bridges, long straights, jumps, a railway crossing, and even a pub. Tasmania’s super-fast road Grand Prix circuit had it all.
First used in 1953, Longford had a life of just 15 years, during which time it established itself as a popular venue with fans and competitors alike. Held over the Labour Day bank holiday weekend at the start of March, the annual race meeting was the biggest event of any kind on the island, attracting 40,000+ strong crowds. Drivers and bike aces who came over on the Princess of Tasmania ferry enjoyed not just the challenge of the circuit, but also the unrivalled hospitality of the locals, a trait that survives today at this attractive Expo.
Longford the sleepy little town a few miles from Launceston, the biggest city in the north of the island. It has a history stretching back to 1812 and is surrounded by picturesque country estates and wineries. The visiting international drivers and riders of the past were entertained by the friendly locals, and the social scene combined with the rustic surroundings lends the place an atmosphere that was comparable to the events in Europe.